You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

This planet is not worth leaving day by day. Industrialization and the rapid growth of civilization created a world of carbon houses, damaging ozone layers and helping to penetrate cosmic rays. The earth is becoming like a green greenhouse; ice zones are melting, lowlands are flooding, droughts are creating wildfires, and so on. A few people are thinking of making colonies on other planets, considering the troubles. But it is not cheap, not happening in a day. A huge investment and much time are required to find and prepare for species.

More than a century has passed, and maybe another will pass to find a way. Investors like Elon Musk will invest several billions to find a new earth or create a new one. It may happen or it may not. However, they will not invest to make this land better. We need to invest more and more to make this world livable. We need to work for humankind, reduce emissions, and produce green energy.

A majority of the people in this world suffer from poverty, even though billions are invested in producing destructive weapons. We see this in Gaza, Syria, and Afghanistan.

We need to stop weapons funding, plan for carbon reduction, and research genetic agricultural food production to mitigate poverty. The political governments of this earth need to come to the same table to make this world better, plan for better economic management, and invest in research for the betterment of living creatures.

I firmly believe that we need investment to mitigate the problems that outweigh investing in life on other planets. We should first work to make our home livable rather than investing in a hypothesis.