You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It’s easy to simplify this kind of discussion about how the government spends public money. People always think that fields like science or culture are a waste of money and that should be done only in universities or with private funds. But in my opinion, it’s relevant that the government invest money in these because they produce public value, knowledge and development to societies. This is why looking for life on other planets is important- it’s science, not just a whim to find UFOs.

Life on other planets is not necessarily the way that we think. Life could manifest in so many ways like the existence of microorganisms, and finding these things on other planets could give us the opportunity to explore how we can preserve life on Earth, create food, save other species or so many other things that enrich our knowledge as humans. Exploring other planets and trying to find life is looking to the future to improve human life and its relation with Mother Earth.

I understand that people think is a waste of money. You don’t like or accept what you don’t understand, and this has happened with space exploration. Scientists and institutions around space or other complex topics have a lack of communication with society. They don’t usually use easy language to explain what they are doing. Given our context, surrounded by inequality, climate change, and wars, it is understandable that people are against these investments. They don’t find sense in them because they want solutions to daily life problems.