You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many countries today, few people believe that it is important to invest large number of money constructing high speed railway lines to connect cities quickly while other people think the money should be allocate on enhancing existing public transport. Both viewpoints, along with my opinion, will be explained in the ensuing paragraphs.

Discussing the former opinion, the foremost argument the supporters would put forward is faster intercity connectivity boosts economic growth. To justify it further, after the allocate money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities, it helps to reduce travel time between two major cities. Aa a result more and more people use high speed railways to save their time and avoid traffic. Also, it helps to increased business travel and trade opportunities. As a consequence, economic growth and regional development are increase. for instance, in Japan, there are lots of high speed railways so it help in business activity and tourism.

However, the latter view has its own claim. The most significant argument is money should be spent on improving existing public transport. It is more cost effective and equitable. To be more specific, if the money distribute on existing public transport, it is more cost effective then build new infrastructure is also help to the lower income citizens who rely on public transportation daily. It promote social equity.

To conclude and offer my viewpoint, while both perspectives present compelling arguments, I firmly believe that it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing high speed railway lines due to not only help in economic growth but also it help in business activity and tourism.