You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In this modern world, social media is becoming more and more popular among people as a platform to stay connected with their friends and relatives, they can also receive the latest news on the internet. While there are several drawbacks that required deep considerations, I believe that the advantages of this development can overshadow its bad side.

On one hand, the expansion of numerous social media platforms can be an overwhelming source of information, which resulted in fake news being spread at an alarming speed, causing confusion and unnecessary fear. For example, fake news about an upcoming election may affect voters in a detrimental way and make them vote for a bad candidate. Misinformation about a natural disaster could also lead to stagnation of everyday lives since people will quit their jobs to move to safer places although that disaster will never come. Scammers could also take advantage of the fact that individuals often have a large number of friends on these apps and they can pretend to be one of them to scam money or personal information from many people to serve their own purposes. People all around the world often encounter scammers from thousands of kilometers away, especially from less developed countries trying to extract informations from them to sell it on the black market or scam their account money, which makes social media becomes a more dangerous place.

On the other hand, social media brings countless benefits for its users. With social platforms, relatives or friends can keep in touch with each other regardless of the distance. This is so convenient since it saves money for travelling and time for many people who want to meet their best friend or their family. It is also heart-touching to see students who study far away from their homes can see their parents’ faces through a small screen. Additionally, social media enables people to keep up with the news and information. Although fake news exist on social media, they are just the minority and because of that, they surely do not reflect the true side of these platforms. Everyday, occasions and accidents occur everywhere on our planet, and social platforms arrive just in time to offer us the latest news. Without them, we cannot know about certain events because the television news does not have enough time to cover all of them.

In conclusion, while social media sometimes contains misinformation or scam activities, it also offers the opportunity to chat and share information with our family or friends and update the important news. This development has narrowed down the distances between people and enhance the knowledge among social groups and countries, resulting in a better world for humans all over the world.