You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. White about the following topic. Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

By and large, people believe that parents should be responsible for educating children to become good members of society. However, many believe that schools should be the primary place for this purpose. I believe that both the place should be equally responsible for educating children to become good members of society.

A well-mannered person, obeys rules and regulations, respect’s elders, and cares for others is considered to be a good member of society. As children spend the maximum time of the week at school, schools should be responsible for inculcating these value in children. This can be done by introducing subjects like value education and stories in literature subjects, which demonstrate such moral values. Moreover, children tend to learn better when with friends rather than self-study and, schools can act as prominent place to educate children about these values .

Although, schools are better place for kids to learn these values, some values like behavioural values can only be taught by parents. Children learn from their parents charater that is, how they portray themselves to the society. Kids often follow their parents, if their parents are kind and friendly with people around them; children tend to adapt these qualities and implement them in their day to day life, while interacting with others.

I would suggest, for children to be responsible members of the society they should be educated by both, parents and at school, schools should be responsible for inculcating moral values and ethical values, while parents should teach their children about societal and behavioural values, making them good members of the community.

In conclusion, Schools should be responsible for teaching children with values to become good members of society, by introducing extracurricular subjects like value education and also including stories with such moral values in literary subjects. Parents should be kind and faithfull towards the other members of the society which in turn teachs children these values.