You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

For some people, attending a work-based certification is preferred than going to a university. They argue that having a work-based training might help them to get a job faster. But despite the benefit, there are other things that need to be taken into consideration, because there are several weaknesses for choosing this instead of going to a university.

Pursuing a diploma, or a work-based training is popular because it needs shorter time to finish, and eventually, requires less cost. However, completing your study at the university need at least 4 years before you can finally get your degree, and because of that, the fee will be definitely higher. For example, some trainings need only $250 for a year program, while university need $1,500 in total.

But, there are several downsides in choosing diploma over university. One of them is because a diploma is not teaching their students deep-enough knowledge, so they will lack the ability to understand a broader range of their own subject. This might be caused by a practical-focus curriculum that a diploma had, so the students are more expert on doing on-hands task rather than thinking-task.

Secondly, there are several companies that taking degree into consideration for career development. It is clear that studying at the university will force us to master some basic soft-skills such as leadership, communication, problem solving, time management, etc, that can help you to do your job more efficiently. For example, I know someone that graduated with a diploma certification, and he cannot promoted to a manager because the management of the company set a standard that a manager should be at least having a bachelors degree.

To conclude, I personally think that having a degree from university is better in general, because you can have a deep knowledge and develop enough soft skills that can be very useful for your career growth.