You should spend no more than 40 minutes on this task. There are movements all over the world to prohibit smoking from buildings such as restaurants, bars, clubs, offices and other indoor spaces. People argue secondhand smoke is dangerous and that such laws protect public health. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Use examples from your own experience to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words.

The governments in most countries implement the policy that prohibits smoking from indoor occasions such as restaurants, bars, clubs, offices and so on. Due to the danger of secondhand smoke, the laws aim to protect public health. I agree very strongly with this policy and recommend that every government all over the world should catch up.

Smoking brings certain downsides to both individuals and the public. First of all, when people choose to smoke, the probability of getting some diseases such as lung cancers will rise, which not only affects their own health, but also has a great impact on resources of the health and medical industry. Moreover, people who do not smoke may still breathe in secondhand smoke as long as they go to the places where some chainsmokers have been to. There is evidence shows that the damage and influences from secondhand smoke is not smaller than first hand smoke.

In addition, air in indoor spaces and buildings are not as ventilated as outdoor places. In order to protect people from the damage of secondhand smoke, it is necessary that the government should make regulations to ban people from smoking indoors. On the other hand, prohibiting smoking in public occasions can help chainsmokers reduce smoke effectively, and even have them quit this bad habit eventually.

In summary, people love to visit restaurants, bars, clubs, offices and other common indoor places regularly. For the purpose of protecting people’s bodies, especially their lungs, the governments should ban smoking in indoor places. Therefore, I agree to a great extent with the movements all over the world to prohibit smoking from buildings.