You work in an office area. Your manager is surveying your opinion about eating food at desks. There have been complaints about strong food smells and about leftover food attracting mice. Your manager asked you to complete an opinion survey. Choose the option that you prefer. Why do you prefer your choice? Explain the reasons for your choice. Option A: Everyone should be required to eat only in the kitchen. Option B: Everyone should be free to eat where they want.

In my opinion all employees should be required to eat only in the kitchen. Firstly, this option would eliminate the issue of lingering food odours in the office. There has recently been some animosity amongst employees regarding strong-smelling food being consumed in the office. Limiting food consumption to the kitchen would eliminate recent debates amongst a number of staff members, thereby improving office relations.

A significant benefit of Option A would be improved hygiene in the office, as there have been issues with food debris on desks. This would result in a more pleasant environment for all employees. Furthermore, I believe that prohibiting food in the office will help to project a more professional image to visiting clients.

This option ensures that staff are taking a break from their work, and reduces time spent in front a computer screen. This offers numerous health benefits and will ultimately make them more productive. Finally, option A also encourages staff to be more sociable with their colleagues.

Option A is the fairest choice for all employees, whilst Option B does not provide a solution to recent complaints or hygiene issues and does not offer any of the benefits as outlined above.