Young people are highly influenced by famous people and they look up to them as role models. Is that a positive or negative development

The effect of famous people presents a complex mix of advantages and disadvantages in most communities. Nowadays, young individuals are easily influenced by famous people and they consider them as role models. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative sides of this phenomenon.

On the one hand, there are several advantages to following famous individuals. One of the most significant benefits is that famous people can encourage young people to be successful in their lives. The primary reason to take into consideration is that the majority of famous people spend most of their time developing their career, in terms of expending their knowledge in various aspects, such as politics, economics, and social issues. Also, they learn new skills regularly to keep their success for the rest of their life. As a result, when young people follow them, they can learn many valuable lessons about success and challenges in life. For example, studies have shown that, 56/ of young people who followed influencers have achieved their goals.

On the other hand, despite the above positive impacts, following famous people has contributed to many negative consequences. To begin with, it has negative impact on students’ academic performance. To be more specific, many young people spend huge amount of time watching famous people on social media rather than studying or working on educational projects. consequently, their academic performance and scores will be decreased. As a result, after university graduation, they may face challenges finding a job. For instance, an online magazine has published that, 50/ of teenagers who followed famous individuals have received the lowest scores in their study.

In conclusion, after a careful analysis, it appears to me that, although following influencers plays a vital role on learning children basic information about success in life, it also has negative effect on students’ academic performances.