Young People are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion ? in this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, young individuals tend to spend more and more of their budget and time pursuing up-to-date fashion trends. This essay will first shed light on the root causes before including why it is a positive development.

To begin with, there are certain reasons driving this phenomenon. Firstly, many young people today prefer to buy luxurious and trendy clothes, which can be attributed to influencers on social media. This is because of the advertising strategy of businesses, they aim to reach more and more potential customers, especially young individuals, who can easily be affected by their peers and not completely make an informed decision, so many KOLs and KOCS are paid at desirable salaries to advertise and widespread the clothes’ images at high quality. With the serious influence of those, many young individuals desire for self-impression and keep up with these latest trends, feeling these fashion trends are now institutionalized. Furthermore, If they do not pursue these common trends,they can be considered an ‘out-of-date’ person, which more and more encourages them to follow and to be socially accepted.

As a result, I firmly argue this development has a drawback influence on these kinds of customers. First and foremost, this unhealthy comparison potentially leads to the wrong message of looks over personality, which harms their self-esteem and mental well-being. To be specific, they may feel pressure to comply with this fashion standard which even can not suit with their signature and financial condition. This is not to mention that this phenomenon is the one of the main elements that contribute to overconsumption, which definitely not only impacts their budget statement but also causes express wastes and environmental damage. This means that fabric more and more appears in landfill, potentially emerging to an uneco-friendly solution to resolve, even leading to common pollution situations related to air, land and water.

In conclusion, because of the influencers’ images and desire for self-expression, young people can face the risk of feeling under pressure when having to be socially accepted and suffering from environmental changes.