Young people are often influenced in their behaviour and situations by others of the same age. This is called "peer pressure". Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

Youngsters are mostly affected by the people who are in the same position or age. And this can also be expressed as ” peer pressure “. Although this situation may have some advantages like improvements in work qualities, I firmly believe that disadvantages outweigh them, due to several reasons which I will be explaining in this essay.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that a competitive environment creates gaps to improvements. This can be seen in the study processes, like striving to be the best in the classrooms, or in the markets, like working hard to be highlighted or the most popular one. One of the reasons for this can be the inner aspirations of humans to be praised as the top one. As a result, it may lead to developments of creativity in the workplaces, advancements in quality of jobs or assignments, which may gradually create people or companies that build futures.

On the other hand, competitive environments create comparisons, which kill the ambitions of most of the students and workers of the same age. Because, when individuals are among people who are better than they are, they directly start thinking that they are less talented or not gifted, even before not looking at the hardships or the long stories behind that of their successes. Then, these thoughts create disbelief in their own potentials or strengths, gradually building unhealthy settings within the community. Ultimately, these people can develop hatred toward their peers, or even worsen their mental health which straightforwardly impacts their relationships in their personal lives, too.

In conclusion, I do not promote people to be isolated or work solitarily, but I want them to control their emotions or thoughts when they are in a big community or just among their peers, due to keeping the balance is the key future of successful life.