Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While authorities are seeking working methods on reducingthe crime rate among youngsters, the same punishments as for adults are considered as one of the options. However, I disagree that treating youngsters similarly as to elders is a reasonable practice.

Firstly, sanctions envisaged for adults could severely harm the mental health of youngers, and consequently lead to an increase of illegal actions. While I concede that at any age criminals should carry full responsibility for their actions, methods should be chosen based on cognitive abilities that are different from age to age. Although the awareness of minors in the possibility to have a similar penalty as olders could stop them from a crime commitment, the penalty itself is highly unlikely to be efficient, since the younger people are, the more fragile their minds are. Consequently, the mental function of adults might stand and accept the consequences of misbehavior, when the psyche of younger ones could be damaged and cause mental disorders. Therefore, since mentally unstable individuals violate the law more frequently, a rising number of crimes occurs as a result.

Secondly, equally strict ways could cause unemployment and a serious decline in the development of a country. For instance, adult offenders who are sentenced to jail mostly have basic education (e.g schools, coledges) and the system of justice mainly does not include any educational procedures for them, thus juveniles under the same system would not have fundamental knowledges. Therefore, after being released they would have lower intellectual abilities than other locals, and struggle to find even a simple job to provide themselves with basic needs. As a result unemployment and poverty will grow.

In conclusion, although offenders of any age have to take full liability in society, the government response should incorporate the contrast of emotional resistance and competence. Therefore, I disagree that juvenile felons should be treated the same as oldsters due to higher risks of mental illness and weaker intelligence.