Zoos have no useful purpose. Do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, zoos are useless and harmful as they keep animals enclosed, whereas others believe that zoos are pivotal for breeding of endangered animals, consequently preventing them from extinction. While I do admit that zoos keep animals in cages against their will, I am highly convinced that pros of zoos outweigh cons.

On one hand, there are two most evident reasons why zoos are harmful for animals. First and foremost, animals in zoos often suffer physically and mentally by being enclosed, as they are detached from their natural habitat. It is especially animals that naturally travel long distances that suffer from enclosment the most. This deprivation causes many zoo animals to become stressed or mentally ill. Secondly, some zoos make animals behave unnaturally: for instance, marine parks often force dolphins and whales to perform tricks. These mammals may die decades earlier than their wild relatives, and some even try to commit suicide.

On the other hand, zoos have the potential to educate the public about conservation issues and inspire people to protect animals and their habitats. Some zoos provide a safe environment for animals which have been mistreated in circuses, or pets which have been abandoned. Zoos also carry out important research into subjects like animal behaviour and how to treat illnesses. Moreover, one of the most important modern functions of zoos is supporting international breeding programmes, particularly for endangered species. In the wild, some of the rarest species have difficulty in finding mates and breeding, and they might also be threatened by poachers, loss of their habitat and predators. A zoo will enable these species to live and breed in a secure environment.

To sum up, despite the concerns about animal enclosure and artificial behaviors, the overarching benefits of modern zoological parks cannot be overstated.