Zoos should be banned because it is cruel to keep wild animals in captivity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The existence of zoos has been widely debated in various societies across the globe. Some people believe that it is understandable to confine wildlife within a cage as a way to preserve the species. Nevertheless, the concept of zoos is undeniably questionable because of their effects on animals’ well-being and freedom. This essay tends to advocate the latter argument despite the allegedly decent purpose mentioned above.

On the one hand, wild animal poaching was relatively common in the past; therefore, numerous species became extinct. However, ever since zoos were first presented to the world, hunting rates began to decline because these places not only provided shelter for the poor creatures but also encouraged visitors to conserve said living beings. For instance, there were zones ,especially designed for each kind of animal, starting from terrestrial to marine animals. Moreover, there were professional staff working within the area to take care of animal welfare concerning diet, health, and reproduction.

On the other hand, captivating animals in certain places for so long could lead to tragic endings as well. To illustrate, creatures, that are unable to migrate or choose their own habitats are inclined to face tremendous stress; consequently, their ability to mate and consume food will drop respectively. Furthermore, having thousands of tourists visit every day could result in a loss of natural instinct, causing creatures to live and rely solely on humans. Besides, there are people who abuse the animals without the zookeepers noticing, namely, by hitting or throwing objects at them and feeding them human meals. These accumulated problems truly account for the skyrocketing death rate of zoo animals annually.

In conclusion, zoos benefit wildlife in terms of protecting and breeding them, but considering the negative effects on these animals in the long run, zoos should be permanently banned.