📝TASK 2: In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic congestion by imposing a congestion tax during rush hours. Do you think this development is positive or negative?In the contemporary era, the imposition on congestion tax has been reinforced by authorities to limit the status quo of traffic jams. From my perspective, even though this application brings about undeniable benefits from scratch, the emergence of multiple drawbacks in the long run can make such a development a detrimental trend.

On the one hand, congestion tax is inevitably a suitable option amongst a multitude of temporary methods. As a stringent and compulsory regulation from the local government, such a measure incentivizes each resident to obediently follow the initial goal of reducing congestion. This development, in the long run, gradually reduces traffic jams since it affects citizens’ psychology and personal income. Consequently, people will tend to switch to public means of transport as appropriate and economical choices for transportation. For instance, certain provinces in Nigeria are one of the first areas to apply such a regulation, which helps the government resolve congestion issues effectively in first attempts.

On the other hand, such a development can ignite a variety of disadvantages when it is applied in the long run. In detail, the immediate shift in choices for transportation will spark such a huge demand for public transport from citizens. This issue, however, will require meticulous consideration from authorities and can not be easily resolved once the congestion tax is currently imposed. Additionally, such a stringent tax will affect the whole contemporary landscape of business development, especially the logistics chain and product transportation. As a matter of fact, there are certain times in a day when products are transported with a view to continuing the business progress and enhancing the workplace productivity. Once congestion tax becomes compulsory, companies will need to seek new methods to reduce such a waste of money, which affects the working process of their staff and the efficiency of the whole company.

In conclusion, even though congestion tax might be a temporarily appropriate measure for some circumstances, such a stringent imposition will ignite an array of ulterior drawbacks which can not be quickly resolved. Therefore, the government should superhead sustainable campaigns and regulations to reduce traffic congestion, which ensures the long-term development of society in the future.