14) Some people say that the Government should break down all the historic buildings and replace them with modern buildings. Do you agree or disagree?

It is fact that almost all cities have different types building such as old stone house, new skyscrapers, ordinary cheap house which middle level people live there. I both agree and disagree with this idea.

To begin, 90% of Turkish cities have old fashion and not suitable for new rules which government took decides in order to save citizens lives after 2001. For example, İstanbul has many historic buildings not only Ottoman Empire age but also in this century. Ancient building is safety but old buildings which made between 1920 and 2001 not because of that contractors of the new buildings stole the stuffs like iron, sand or gravel. In this reason government have to demolish many old buildings which made before the 2001.

On the other hand, number of the tourist increase day by day. For example, İzmir has over the 4 million tourists or Muğla has 5 million tourist every year. They need accommodations which made new technology and modern architect. However, İf government destroy old houses in these cities. These cities would be effect negatively. Moreover, tourists do not need new big building. They need a resting time in the culture of the Anatolian history. In these reasons government have to save the structure of these cities.

To conclude, people want to see new views but this request can bring a lot of problems or alternative solutions. For example, touristic places can demolish but new building may protect the natural event. In my opinion most important point is location’s information and needs of the people