17. Today the life expectancy of people is much highen than before. Some people think that older people should continute to be involved in the workforce. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that longevity has led to an increase in the ability of people to work for longer years and therefore sone people hold the opinion that the older people should retire later in life Although extended employment may led to certain problems,I belived that the elderly people should be given the opinion to work post retirement if they are interested

There are many reason why extended employment for the elderly should be an option.firstly looking at it from country ecnomic point of view,increasing the retirement age would help decrease the government burder of ensuring benefits such as senior citizen discounts,health care benefits and pension for the elderly.Not only this it would also increase the tax revenue for the government .Secondly, working longer would ensure that the elderly will not have to struggle after retirement and would be able to live more comfortably as they would have more funds saved up

Finally working till a later age will be very beneficial to the elderly ,at an individual level.They will not need to depend on anyone for thier needs.Also they’ll be busy and involved in work ,which will help to tackle the problems of loneliness and depression among them.These days the family members do not have the time to spend with the old members of the family ,which leads the elderly to feel isolated .Increasing the retirement age will, to a great extent , reduce this problem.

Overall,while transitioning to a later retirement would not come without a cost ,its benefits are far too many to disregard it as an option for the elderly .