17. Today the life expectancy of people is much highen than before. Some people think that older people should continute to be involved in the workforce. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the real world, we often face many critical issues directly related to our living. Today’s topic, continued workforce involvement, is one of them, creating confusion among many people. Although there are several good points to this idea, many of us disagree. I think we should consider the following important factors before offering any opinion.

First, we need to consider what is actually happening. In most cases, from an economic point of view, increasing the retirement age will help decrease the government’s burden in providing benefits for the elderly. This leads to an even more significant reason. Regarding retirement benefits, it is worth mentioning benefits for senior citizens, such as senior citizen discounts and healthcare benefits.

However, some people have a different perspective. They point out that, on an individual level, people will be busy and involved in work. In addition, they suggest that increasing the retirement age will allow more time to spend with older family members . There is little evidence for this.

To sum up, it is not easy to give a firm conclusion based on these points. Yet, considering the present situation, I think voluntary retirement options can be offered to those who wish to retire early due to health or other circumstances. This would be better not only for the individual but also for society as a whole.