(2010) Historical objects should be brought back to their country of origin. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that the repatriation of objects that significantly hold historical values should be accomplished. In this essay, I will personally propose a partial perspective on this suggestion based on some rationales that are explained in the following essay.

On the one hand, it is understandable why sending the antique objects back to their original nations is beneficial. Although many items are traded fairly with agreements from both countries, some others can be the result of dishonorable triumph of colonies to their empires. As a result, repatriation should be done in order to show peace-oriented goodwill, hence, rectifying justice and strengthening diplomacy.

On the other hand, the practice of returning memorabilia still potentially offers some drawbacks to some extent. The historical objects, indeed, are in deteriorated quality and might be easily damaged by the surrounding environment. Therefore, they require ensured conservation with cutting-edge devices and enough storage spaces, which might be expensive. Thus, the nations with financial burdens cannot afford the expenses incurred in getting the items back, which eventually damages the very history it aims to safeguard. A case in point is the Rosetta Stone, which is native to Egypt yet actually be showcased at the British Museum. It is preserved in the optimal conditions with temperature and humidity control systems and nearly the safest security, and those are not assured in its motherland due to their limited financial strength.

In conclusion, there are mixed opinions on whether antique objects should be repatriated to their native territories or not. From my perspective, I claim that this practice depends on a variety of indicators, and it is only should if the indigenous regions have enough demanded conditions to maintain its presence in the future.