(2022)Nowadays university education is very expensive. Some people say that universities should reduce their fees, especially for the less fortunate students or those coming from rural areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Education is one of the primary needs in life. However, due to inflation and some other factors, the tuition fee for university is getting higher each year. According to several people, universities should decrease the tuition fee, especially for the less fortunate students or for those coming from rural areas. I personally agree with this opinion. There are two reasons why I agree for universities to reduce their tuition fees. First, the economic condition of all people maybe has not been fully recovered after the pandemic. Second, education is the right for all people, thus, all people should have equal access to education.

As we know, the pandemic of COVID-19 hit the economic condition of all countries. This also affected the economic condition of all residents in all countries. There were several companies who laid off their employees, because they did not have money to pay for their salaries and wages. This made the inflation and poverty rate increased during the pandemic. For instance, the parents in a family were laid off in September 2020. They got their new job in March 2021. During those six months period, they had to use their saving to fulfil their daily needs. Meanwhile, their only child has to enter university in 2024. The economic condition of this family has not been fully recovered. They were living in poverty since 2021 until now.

Furthermore, university should accommodate the less privileged and those coming from rural areas since education is the right for all people and is included in the primary needs. There are several people coming from rural areas have capability to continue their study to university. However, they cannot afford the tuition fees that must be paid to the university. They are dependent on the scholarships provided by institutions, both inside and outside the university.

In conclusion, lowering the tuition fees for universities will be beneficial for students, especially those coming from rural areas and the less privileged. Besides accommodating their primary needs, it also eases their family’s financial burden which may not been fully recovered after the pandemic of COVID-19.