5. Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Reading academic books have its own merits, however I believe that reading other types of books for enjoyment holds the same importance for two main reasons: personal and mental growth is possible only if one devotes their time equally on both reading for pleasure and reading to thrive academically.

People can gain so many benefits from reading educational materials. Academic materials such as Mathematics will improve one’s problem-solving abilities and teach them how to prioritize important details, and simplify the questions in order to answer the given task. Thus, on the long run, individuals who read these kinds of books have improved critical-thinking abilities, which allows them to tackle and fix their personal problems later in life.

On the other hand, academic reading solely for the purpos of enhancing knowlege on specific subjects Is not sufficient for personal growth. Taking pleasure in reading will result in learning, and not every topic should be educational in order to teach you something.For example, not only finishing a fictional book will give you the opportunity to fantasize, but also gives you the chance to learn from the characters, and hopefully you will implement the lessons you have learned in your own life. Moreover, non-educational books are likely to boost your creativity. For instance, those children who read books on many subjects will become good readers in the future, and they will be able to express their words and feelings in a way that others are unable to.

In conclusion, I argue that while spending time on reading educational subjects is important, reading books that teach other skills holdsthe same importance. Also, it should be taken into consideration that one can only grow if they are both personally and mentally developed.