6)Has anyone given you advice, and you ignored it, but then regretted it? What conclusions did you make?

Sometimes we think we can handle our problems in our own and ignore people who try to give advice.

I experienced such a situation when I was in 8th grade. I had to prepare for a tournament. But I putt off the preparation. Teacher asked me why I weren’t preparing for the tournament and said that I needed help with preparation. I thought I’ve been in debate settings for a year. Additionally, I was overconfident in my powers and didn’t want to ask help.

But I was wrong. I needed help because it was hard to prepare for the two sides. Moreover, I couldn’t get the topics and I came to the tournament with my teammate having the half-preparing.

At the end, we’ve lost all of 3 rounds. I didn’t consider ourselves as winner but I thought we could pass the 1/8 round. I was furious and regretted putting off the preparation and ignored the teacher. In my second tournament, I’ve worked on my cases for 6 hours a day. I asked help from my teacher too. But, I have lost again. I cried, then my teacher told me you have struggled 100% and the rest is out of your control. You learned from your last mistake and it was your first victory.

In conclusion, I learned that people who give advice, try to help us and they know better than me. Because their advices comes from experiences they have gone through. So now, I listen people’s advice. Especially people who have gone through what I am going.