A 'cashless society' is one where people use debit/credit cards and other forms of payment instead of cash. Do the advantages of a cashless society outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays people more into using paperless forms of payment than pay with cash. As a result, some people are already involved into ‘cashless society’, while others still prefer using paper money. I mostly agree that cards are more convenient in usage because of the numerous benefits it gives to customers. In this essay I will explain my opinion.

To begin with, I understand why paying with paper currency is still common in our socium. Firstly, it may be due to some individual’s fear of losing their card with a large amount of money on it. It provides unwillingness to give a chance to other forms of payment apart from cash. Secondly, a lot of people heard about online fraudsters who can steal with ease all of their monies. That is why many choose the ‘secure transfer of funds’. Generalizing, a great number of population refuse to switch to another payment system just because of their fears.

However, I cannot say that the disadvantages mentioned above outweigh the advantages. In large supermarkets, there are appeared an opportunity to pay for purchases through self-checkouts, which in most cases can be used only with pay cards. This possibility can speed up the shopping, for example if you do not want to stand in big queues. Moreover, using online banking, denote reducing the difficulty in carrying cash. This means that it is not necessary to carry a huge wallet that will take up space in your bag. In addition, it is easier to track the expenses through the internet bank. Whenever you want, you can view them and create a plan that will help you to reduce the amount of money you spend every month.

In conclusion, I can say that cashless payment has become popular for a reason. Nevertheless, there are people who still prefer cash as a main payment method because of their prejudices, the opportunities that credit cards provide outweigh any drawbacks of it.