A growing number of tourist destinations are suffering from environmental damage due to cheap mass tourism. What are the problems associated with this trend? What measures can be taken to protect these places for the future?

Worldwide less costly tourism has leads to massive participation of tourists and eventually environmental harm. I believe, tourist places should be preserved from getting any kinds of damage. This essay aims to find out the problems associated with mass tourism and finds out arrangements to alleviate the situation.

Tourism is economically highly valued for a country and one of the best ways to unwind the mind. However, more visitors compared to capacity makes the destination unstable. Since all tourists are not from the same cultural background, differences in attitudes, and behaviors may affect the tourist destination. For instance, some people may throw their plastic bottles everywhere other than using the beans. Eventually because of these types of habits the place loose its beauty and value. The place which was once popular for unmatched natural scene may eventually become a crowded backwater. For example: Cox’s bazar is the longest sea beach in the world, during peak season there are so many visitors that in certain places it is impossible to see the coastline let alone sunset. Moreover, the leftover of the visitors get washed away to the sea. It is difficult for authority to monitor everything due to the overflow of tourists.

It is not very easy to make a solution to this problem. Step by step planning and establishment is required by the government. Law and regulations should be enforced to regulate the highest number of tourists for each season. If the visitors number is shrinked it will be easy for authorities to monitor and correct them. Tour guides should obtaina a license before they can assist tourists. They should be highly trained and strictly instructed for environmental sustainability.

To summarise, cheap mass tourism has made all sorts of people enjoy tourist destinations but the associated environmental problems are also growing rapidly. By raising awareness and governmental actions environmental sustainability on the tourist destinations can be achieved.