A lot of people have become dependent on technology as it plays a big role in our daily lives. Do you agree that living in computer age has more advantages than disadvantages? Describe the positive and negative impacts of technology on our lives and give your opinion.

Age of Computers

Technology, in general, has become a huge part of our daily lives. Every corner of our homes and workplaces is surrounded by some kind of technological device. Some people believe that our dependency on technology is a bad thing while others think the exact opposite way.

The biggest gadget technological development has supplied us with is computers. Computers, back in the early 90’s, were big enough to fill an entire room. However, with the new century, they have become so compact that we can basically just carry them in our pockets. Smartphones are essentially pocket-sized computers. Only a hundred years ago, people didn’t even have the idea of being able to talk to someone who is in the other part of the world, while also seeing their faces. Today, video calling is an integral part of our lives and it seems so basic. Technology made communication unbelievably easy. It not only made it possible to talk to someone who is in a different country, but also to talk to people when you are in a different country. There is no longer a need for dictionaries. Translation services are so easy to access using smartphones. The uses of technology in our daily lives are limitless, however, technology has its uses in workplaces, industries, and science too.

The biggest technological trend of today is artificial intelligence, AI for short. AI is extremely useful in so many areas. For example, finding the right molecules to discover a new drug was a time-consuming and expensive process. AI, on the other hand, using its high processing power, made this process a lot cheaper and a lot less time-consuming. The data processing speed of AI can come in handy in biology. From finding out where fossils of a particular species could be found to analyzing behavioral patterns of dolphins to comparing DNAs of different species. The amount of time saved is huge. The uses of AI are unending and it is only one area of technology.

In conclusion, our dependency on technology is our responsibility. No matter what we think, say, or do. Technology will advance. Technology is the key to the future of humankind. Thinking of it only as screens that we spend hours watching is an underestimation of technology.