A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the world itself keeps changing, various living perspectives have also been altered. Some people argue that the traditional way to evaluate others’ worth through moral indicators, such as respect, warm-heartedness, and reliability, are being replaced by money-based initiatives alike social status and net-worth. From my perspective, the old-fashioned method is a more appropriate option as a person’s worth shall be determined through their inner-side and moralities, not how much money they generate or possess. This essay will be presenting reasons and practical evidences forming up the given statement.

Basically, the main purpose of judging or evaluating others is to get to know one another’s personality and to consider whether it is safe to be around such person. To that extent, it is more applicable to think of their characteristics – the moral values they possess alike honesty, honor, kindness, and truthfulness which are revealed through their usual behaviors. For instance, kindness reflecting through a minimal act of assisting an elder crossing the road shall strongly affirm the helper to be a warm-hearted person.

Nonetheless, the fact that money can be generated through illegal and immoral activities has considerably been denying material possessions and social status to be social measures for judging someone’s worth. The case of drug-dealers under cloak of successful businessmen is getting more and more popular in the modern world. In addition, drug-dealers have been laundering their money through anonymous companies registered in tax havens such as British Virgin Islands, then reinvesting these amount back into their legal businesses.

In summary, this essay mentioned that making assumptions related to others’ personality is the main usage of judging someone else. Henceforth, the old-fashioned values of honor, kindness, and trust are most appropriate to unveil someone’s inner-self. Besides, scandals regarding illegal businesses have also been discussed to answer why social bankings and net-worths cannot reflect the true worth of a person. Considering given aspects, this essay argues that traditional values are the best measurement to judge others, regardless of time.