A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We are living in a world which is modernizing at an exponential rate. With advanced in almost all aspects of life certainly brings in changes in perception of the world. The newer generation views the world from a very different lens and morals and social values have changed entirely. However the argument here arises on the fact whether this is change is for the better and whether the older morals hold any importance or not.

Nowadays, judging someone by the wealth they hold and the lifestyle they possess has become a widespread phenomenon. The greatest example of this is the rise of lifestyle influencers on social media platforms. They portray their lifestyle in such a way that the audience is impressed by it. This also directly leads to inferiority complexes however the majority if being fed what they want to feed on. Moreover, relationships nowadays are being made on the basis of social status and material possessions. Such has been the case in the medieval times as well however the occurrences have increased multiple folds. Not only is this a very weak platform for the relation to be sustained over long period but the rather the upcoming generations will also be affected directly in a negative manner.

Regardless, the relevance of old-fashioned morals such as honor is what is holding our society together. Kindness towards the kin, the less fortune and the old has been observed amongst many teenagers who have shielded themselves from the pressures of society. Many teenagers go out of their way to establish charity funds or tree-plantation drives in order to contribute back to the society rather than focusing on material possessions. Such selflessness is a clear example of how old-fashioned morals are still relevant and important.

I believe that with each day passing by, the morals of the modern day will continue to change especially with the world becoming a global village but it is the old-fashioned morals which will remain the most relevant overshadowing selfish approaches such as gathering material wealth and looking good for the crowd.