Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people think that one of the basic human rights is having access to clean water, and every home should be provided with water for free. Well, I do not share the same opinion, people must pay to have water.

First, water is not a resource that is always available especially in countries where the weather is very dry and it does not rain often. If governments give water to people for free they won’t know the value of it, it will be easier for them to waste it without acknowledging and fearing the consequences. If water is not available, many problems will appear, for example, agriculture will be affected the most because it provides food and contributes to the growing of trees.

Moreover, in order to have enough water, many ways to collect rainwater are created nowadays and with the development of technology they have become more expensive to purchase. That is why governments spend so much money on those techniques and the process of installing them, for this reason, water cannot be free. For instance, a lot of people in the world suffer from not having enough water for cleaning, drinking, and planting, because they live in places where it is not possible to have more water and the reasons are mostly financial.