Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, although the access to clean water is considered to be one of the fundamental human rights, this is still a huge problem for humanity. That is why some people believe that governments should provide free water supply in every house regardless its costs, and I strongly agree with this opinion for several reasons.

First and foremost, access to clean water is not only some humas’ survival, but also a factor that affects productivity and poverty reduction. Populations in rural areas, which tend to use untreated water, often suffer from health diseases. These diseases lead to the number of unhealthy people, which are not able to focus on working and earning money. Adults’ inability to provide good living conditions for younger generations increase the rate of poverty and crime. For example, in Sub-Saharan Africa, only urban and some suburban communities have the access to safe drinking water, while 20% of rural people drinking untreated water, suffer from cholera and dysentery. As a result, urbanization process has decelerated in last 20 years.

However, there are numerous reasons why governments consider this action as really problematic. Massive costs for infrastructure make it less possible to create water supply machines. Moreover, global issues, such as climate change and water pollution will negatively affect the efficiency of these machines.

In conclusion, although this is troublesome to provide water availability, its sufficiency clearly outshines the drawbacks. Government should support new projects and find a way out this issue.