"Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?"

The current status of technology offers a lot of benefits to society. Elderly people, however, face challenges by adapting the new digital services. This essay will outline in which specific areas older people can benefit, for instance, in healthcare and further come up with ideas, that could help to motivate the older generation, to harness the benefits of the new digital world.

Nowadays, technology can improve our daily life in many different ways. Time consuming tasks like grocery shopping or monetary transactions, can be conducted via mobile apps and compared to former times, a lot of time can be saved. Old people can benefit using the new technology in various ways. For example, appointments with a physicians can be easily scheduled by using a website or an app. Furthermore, grocery shopping, which can be challenging for elderly people, can be easily managed via a digital service.

Since the new digital offerings can be difficult to adapt by the older generations, people have to be encouraged with practical and good use cases, that motivate them to frequently use the services. A major benefit that the digital products can provide, is the simplification and availability of communication with family and friends. By using the new electronic devices, grandparents can be always in touch with their grandchildren and friends. Last year, I gifted my grandmother a tablet, which she can easily use to communicate and stay up to date with us.

In conclusion, the evolving technology can bring many improvements to the lifes of elderly people like reducing time spend for grocery shopping or to simply the process of scheduling appointments. However, as older people struggle to adapt to the new digital world, family and friends have to motivate them by illustrating good and beneficial use cases like the opportunity to stay in frequent communication.