Advancement in translation technology (e.g. computers) will make unnecessary to learn new language. Do you think this development has more advantages than disadvantages?

People will not need learning other languages due to the improvement of technological translation. Although every human will be able to communicate in other countries thanks to these advances, these interactions will be less personal.

On the one hand, as long as they have a device everyone would be able to interact with others in different countries, which will be very helpful for plenty of situations. Regarding that, communication will provide independence to different groups of our society such as old people and people with disabilities, and consequently that will encourage them to travel abroad. As an example, in 2018, travels by deaf and blind people increase by 50% due to the launch of voice recording on mobile phones. However, interacting through technological devices will reduce personal contact between humans.

On the other hand, using gadgets to translate in order to communicate between people who speak different languages will become impersonal and distant. Moreover, technological translators will substitute human natural conversations and the relationships which can grow from this interactions. For example, research of the University of Madrid, which compared opinions from costumers who have used audio-guide with costumer who arrange a guide while visiting the Prado Museum, showed that the second group of people enjoy more the visit and remember more data about the paintings than the second group. For this reason, learning languages to communicate with others is crucial because human beings are social animals.

To conclude, although translators will help some groups of people in different situations in foreign countries, using them will caused that the interactions between humans become artificial.