Advantages and disadvantages of teeangers working part-time

Part-time jobs are viewed as a great opportunity to gain experience and engage in social interactions, especially for teenagers. However, these kind of jobs might encourage young people to neglect school or worse, even drop out.

On the first hand, part-time jobs are beneficial for a teenager’s maturing process. While working, they will deal with various situations in which they have to act responsibly. This will prepare them for their future, as the teenagers will realise that life can sometimes be challenging and they will be the only ones who can help themselves. Furthermore, the young ones gain experience while working part-time, which will be helpful for university. For example, many students admit that having a part-time job benefited them, both personally and professionally. They realised how hard it is to earn your own money and they learnt how to deal with people, who can be difficult in many situations.

On the other hand, working part-time might lead to neglecting school and other responsabilities. Having a job while going to school is quite difficult, especially when teenagers have assignments and upcoming exams. Doing both requires mental and physical strength, which is why most students are not prepared for a part-time job. Because they are exhausted, teenagers start neglecting school and even themselves. As the time passes by, the young ones will start thinking it is better to drop out of school, delighted with the salary they receive from their part-time job. For example, many students drop out of school, considering it a waste of time. As long as it isn’t a source of money, they find it unnecessary.

In conclusion, having a part-time job has plenty advantages and disadvantages. While it is a great opportunity to gain experience, it might make the young ones to neglect their responsabilities and underestimate the importance of school.