Advertising discourages us from being different and individuals eventually look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there has been ongoing debate regarding the impact of advertising on individualism, with some asserting that these promotion tactics promote uniformity among consumers. However, I firmly disagree with this perspective as personal preferences and monetary capabilities play the predominant role when we make our buying decisions.

The first reason that explains my idea is that nowadays the shopping process is more thoughtful. This is because stylists and influencers have helped raise awareness about how to choose items that suit one’s body and personal style. That is to say, no matter how catchy the advertisement is, people no longer buy spontaneously without paying attention to the important factors for each item. For example, if adverts show celebs in flared pants, those who are not blessed with a good height would surely not follow them.

The second reason that justifies my belief is the personal finances of individuals. While wealthy people generally opt to buy highly expensive products that keep them fashionable and elegant, middle-class people need to be careful with their hard-earned money and buy moderately priced products. For example, wealthy people usually buy branded clothes, which is quite impossible for low-income individuals. Thus, eventually, people would never look the same, at least in terms of these items.

In conclusion, I am convinced that advertisements would never cause people to have the same looks. Although advertising aims to set trends and standards among people, more thoughtful shopping habits and financial limitations still control people’s purchasing behavior.