Advertising discourages us from being different and individuals eventually look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, some people argue that advertisements lead people to buy the same products, and thus finally become assimilated. Personally, I disagree with this notion, as preference and society tenets have the predominant role when we make our buying decisions

Firstly, nowadays purchasing processes are made smartly. By this I mean, stylists and influencers have raised the awareness of people about the aspects of selecting each items to be fit on them. That is to say, no matter the advertisement is catchy, people no long longer buy spontaneously without paying attention to the needed criteria for each item. For example, If adverts show celebs in flared pants, those who are not blessed with a good height would surely not follow them.

Secondly, The second reason of my opinion is the taboos imposed by culture and traditions. By this I mean people can not decide spontaneously what they buy unless it is combatable with his norms. To explain further, there are certain items can be bought in urban areas and forbidden in countryside. For example, in Egypt , motorcycles, which is widely used in cities for both gender , is something prohibited for women in villages.

In conclusion, I am convinced that advertisements would never cause people to have the same looks. Although advertising aim to set trends and standards among people, smarter shopping and cultural norms have control the shopping decisions.