All Children should study a foreign language, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, because of the globalized era, foreign language has become increasingly popular among all ages to such an extent which was previously impossible. Under these circumstances, some further state their stance that children should learn foreign languages at their young age. I partially agree with that statement.

One of the reasons why children should learn foreign languages as soon as possible is that they acquire new languages more quickly and efficiently. This is due to their high level of neuroplasticity which helps them pronounce and intonate naturally. Furthermore, the habit of imitating rhythm helps them develop an international accent, which is difficult for adults to achieve. For example, in Singapore, the bilingual education system introduces English to children at the primary level, as a result, many people can be fluent in English and treat this language as their mother tongue.

On the other hand, not all children should be required to study in an international program from an early age and their family needs to have rights to decide. For children from unprivileged backgrounds, bilingual education programs can be costly and unaffordable, potentially placing a burden on their economic situation. Conversely, families with better economic backgrounds should be encouraged to introduce international education models to their children early as long as they are interested in learning languages.

Moreover, early exposure to foreign languages may negatively affect children’s proficiency in their mother tongue. Young children who have not yet mastered their native languages may experience linguistic interference, leading to the erosion of their cultural and national identity. Therefore, ensuring a solid foundation in native languages should be prioritized before introducing foreign languages.

In conclusion, although learning a second language at an early age may bring benefits in terms of improving intonation and accent, the loss of mother tongue and the economic burden of limited financial families may occur if all children are forced to join bilingual education programs. Therefore, ensuring that children first build a strong basic in their mother tongue before absorbing foreign additional languages.