All criminals should have access to education and rehabilitation programs while in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

In several nations, the rates of atrocities are inclining significantly. Some people contend that all criminals should have the privilege to education and rehabilitation programs during their imprisonment. I strongly agree with this statement as such measure enables those criminals to reshape their characters and obtain a better job after their release.

First and foremost, the accessibility of education and rehabilitation programs encourage those individuals to reflect their previous behaviors and spot where their actions go wrong. This foster their thinking and decision-making skills, therefore stimulating wise and responsible choices. Moreover, statistics have shown that the majority of criminals are those who have limited access to education, as a result, they often struggle to determine between good and bad choices. For instance, an Individual who fails to graduate high school will likely involve in criminal actions, such as robbery and murder.

Furthermore, criminals who are privileged with free access to education can gain knowledge and skills that match their interests, as this enables those people to seek for a better opportunity in the future. For instance, when an imprisoned individual who aspire to become an engineer fails to finish his education journey due to his economic background, he can soon accomplish his goal after being released by receiving educational support from the government during his punishment.

In conclusion, the accessibility of education and rehabilitation programs can be such an effective initiative for all criminals, as this not only transforms their characters to become a better person, but also provides those people with better opportunities.