All criminals should have access to education and rehabilitation programs while in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

Nowadays, the idea that all criminals should have access to education and rehabilitation has become widespread. While some experts believe that the government should take care of prisoners, other individuals argue that it wastes money and time without benefits. I agree with the given statement as education will help them to be good human beings, and recovery programs will help them to avoid bad habits in the future.

First of all, literacy is a primary key that provides knowledge to gain good habits and become a great personality. Furthermore, education will give information about good and bad things to the lawbreakers during their jail period, which will help boost their thinking towards a positive attitude. This will reduce the chances of further crime. For example, a recent study found that teachers have the ability to shape minds towards healthy thinking, and this will help felons to think with a positive attitude. Thus, with the help of education, a lawbreaker has a chance to see their life in a healthier view, and in addition, this can help them to change their lifestyle or to be more concerned about their future life.

Furthermore, they may have negative thoughts, which can provoke them to do the crime. But recovery programs can help them in many ways. For example, counselling sessions can help them to express themselves, and what they feel, their state of mind, and a counsellor will help them to figure out in a better way. Additionally, these sessions can help them to stay more motivated and be kind to others.

To conclude, I believe that with the help of education and the reintegration system, crime can be reduced. So I completely agree with this idea that in jail, these kinds of activities should happen, as this will generate good personalities and help felons to ignore negative thoughts