In many countries, people increasingly talk about money (how much they earn, how much they pay) in daily conversations. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, many individuals are more likely to compare themselves with others about how wealthy they are or how much they can spend in every day’s life. This trend is mainly influenced by social media and the cost of living standard leading to the willingness of achieving recognition from others. In my perspective, this is a negative trend because it can cause increasing anxiety and competitive lifestyle of people in everyday life.

To begin with, one of the main reasons for talking about people’s wealthiness on daily conversation is meant to be recognized as a social trend. In some companies, for instance, many working adults would like to talk about their salaries or income among other coworkers in order to obtain approval status from them. Therefore, buying expensive stuff becomes their daily usage instead of saving money for their future. Consequently, people tend to discuss expenses on what they buy such as high-end clothes and jewellery and even compare with others of their own financial situation as their pride.

On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to talking about wealthiness in public areas, which may lead to increase people’s anxiety. A good example is that many people show off their wealthy lifestyles these days in social media unnecessarily, and this influences their friends or relatives, who are facing financial challenges and causing them jealousy in other ways. On top of that, some may feel insecure about their income and that can be harmful to their relationships, especially at their workplace. As a result, judging people based on their wealth instead of their behaviors can create a more competitive environment leading to less compassionate society.

To conclude, while there are many reasons for discussion about money in daily life, I believe this trend has many negative consequences. It can raise social pressure, insecurities and encourage unhealthy living styles. Hence, society would establish personal well-being by placing more important personal values rather than financial status.