All education and healthcare should be funded by the government and free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that education and medical services should be free of charge for local people , being paid by the government.I partially agree with the statement above , because of the improved standard of living and more working presonnel. However , there are several following consequences of this development.

On the one hand , distributing money among the educational and medical institutions can have a good impact in the long-term future. First of all, making education free for the families in need, is a good investment for the development of the country. More people from poor backgrounds will have an access to a high-level education , thereby leading to an increase in the standard of living. Subsequently, this development will provide the country with more qualified personnel and have an influence in the long-term economic growth. For instance, after Harvard provided its applicants whose families were getting less than 50.000$ in a year with full financial aid , the number of people applying to a universities has increased.

On the other hand , it can also negatively influence the countries economy and quality of services. As beneficial as this decision might seem to be , it doesn’t change the fact that government needs to get this money anyways. Basically, when a country needs financial support to cover the expenses, it gets this money by increasing the taxes and cost of living. Thus, the economy slowes down, because the budget of people and entrepreneurs spent on taxes. Consequently , the inflation will increase , as a result of more money printed , and the amount of products and services staying unchanged. Secondly , notwithstanding it can lead to a more qualified personnel in the far future , it lowers the quality of services. When something is free , it immediately gains popularity among individuals , it means that all the hospitals and schools will be overloaded, making people have to wait for months to be treated or operated. For example, it has already happened in the UK, as a result of free healthcare, people have to wait for years to have a surgery.

To summarize what has been stated so far, it is argued that government should distribute money for education and healthcare, so that locals don’t have to pay for these expenses anymore. This essay expresses a partial agreement with this belief, because of the boost of economy and well-educated personnel. However , there are some negative consequences of this development.