All over the world, individuals are facing a growing problem with effective time management. This problem affects both students and professionals alike. What are the reasons for this struggle with time management? How could it be tackled?

More and more individuals, ranging from students to professionals encounter the struggle with proper time allocation. The main reason of problems with time management is procrastination and breaking down tasks into smaller parts is suggested as a viable solution.

Poor time management is mainly caused by procrastination-deliberately avoiding the things that should have been done. Procrastination leads to issues with time management as individuals avoid starting the tasks, often substituting them with low-priority activities such as scrolling through social media. This contributes to the delay of tasks and they tend to accumulate. Consequently, there is only a small amount of time remaining till the deadlines which obviously is not enough to complete all the work.

Dividing the tasks into smaller parts can be substantially beneficial for tackling the challenges of poor time optimisation. Most people tend to procrastinate as they are too afraid to start the task due to the lack of knowledge about the task itself. By separating the task into smaller pieces,it is more likely to be seen as manageable and doesn’t look that perplexing as it used to. For instance, if there is voluminous assignment, then it will be more convenient to write the plan of the steps and do it gradually rather than cramming and stressing-out the night before.

To conclude, difficulties with time management are primarily rooted in procrastination. Nevertheless, it can fixed by properly organising the work into smaller parts.