All students should study art and music in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic about students of all ages having to study both art and music have been a heated discussion. Personally, disagree that they need to learn the two subjects, as they should focus more on one.

Children should be able to choose what they want to study, which is either art or music. This can help motivate to explore what they like more, resulting in them being able to do it whole-heartedly. For instance, children are more likely to practise their art or music willingly if they are not forced to do it by their parents. In addition to that, chosing to learn just one of those forms of arts can help them make greater progress, as they can put more focus into the lesson. Children who choose art will make more improvements than those who choose both art and music in the same period of time.

There is no doubt that both art and music detrimental skills for children to have, and those can be great ways to help children find their sense of selves. But to my mind, making youngsters learn something that’s not in their interest can decrease their imagination. Art and music, both of which need high level of creativity, should not be done in a forced manner, as great ideas come from within the children.

Overall, I believe children ought to take one aspect of arts, which can be either art or music. Even though both aspects can help balance the mind of young people, focusing more on one thing will be more efficient than trying to excel in both subjects.