All university students should do voluntary work in their own time . Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that all undergraduates should prioritize being volunteers in their personal time. I strongly disagree with this stance since university students can be negatively affected by doing voluntary work.

To begin with, becoming a volunteer may have adverse effects on students’ mental health, and it proves to be not suitable for all university students. Firstly, students who have to complete various assignments or continuous exams and help people as an assistant at the same time can be stressed out and exhausted. Secondly, voluntary activities can be not a feasible task for undergraduates who have suffered from various health problems, such as the disabled. Indeed, these activities require good physical well-being, which can be challenging for the handicapped to find voluntary work. Furthermore, handicapped students might undergo negative attitudes from other individuals or peers.

Besides, low university pupils’ academic performances might have responsibilities that lie with volunteering. Honestly, studying at school and engaging in a voluntary organization simultaneously make students fatigued, reducing their concentration on lessons. In the long run, their academic achievements may be deteriorated, resulting in career path deterioration in the future. For example, my sister participated in a student volunteer team when she was a junior. Because of her hectic working schedule, she could not attend her classes steadily, failing her examinations, and she decided to leave that team to focus on enhancing her academic performance.

In conclusion, I firmly counter this development since I believe that university students should show regard for improving school attainment, laying a strong foundation for their career path.