Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, This often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many countries with prolonged working hours are successful for their economical growth; however, this has some adverse social effects. I agree with this statement because it leads to an unbalanced work-life balance, resulting in lower-birth mortality.

Prolonged working hours can lead to lower birth mortality. Because of an imbalanced work-life balance, people do not have enough time to spend with their partners, leading to fewer chances of planning for a child. This leads to decreased population growth and burdens the country’s economy to keep up with larbour shortage. For instance, in Finland, the government has made a strict four-day work policy; people have more time to focus on their personal lives. Indeed, the Finnish government is willing to pay child benefits for people planning to have kids. Thus, if long working hours would linger around, it can adversely affect the country’s population.

Double duties can lead to social consequences like burnout and less time for socialization. For instance, in China, many companies have strict working policies that force people to work for 12 hours; as a result, many people do not have enough time for themselves and socialization, resulting in developing mental health issues like depression and anxiety. Thus, in the long term this leads to decreased productivity because of burnout and the global rise in mental health issues among citizens of the country.

To conclude, while it may be worthy for country’s economical growth , long working hours have more negative social outcomes, including lower birth rates and burnout. Hence, I agree that double duties are not worthy regardless od a country’s rising economy, because it damages people’s mental health and population growth.