Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, This often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

With the inexorable dissemination of industrialization, the debate surrounding average working time and economic progress have garnered significantly publicity. A school of thought affirms that while extended standard working hours acts as a driving force for financially national advancements, this tendency could be fraught with potential social repercussions. From my perspective, I am inclined to disagree with this viewpoint, albeit with inherent benefits.

Admittedly, it is commonly believed that prolonged working duration is inextricably associated with national thrives, whereas I concur that this implementation is presumably counterproductive. Indubitably, there is a high probability that working beyond acceptable time triggers work overload among employees, which predisposes them to allocate excessive proportions of their limited leisure time for completing assignments. Consequently, this situation, in the long run, would lead to increased likelihood of impaired overall well-being, namely depression, fatigue and osteoarthritis, thereby exerting catastrophic influences on work efficiency. Furthermore, countries’ development is not necessarily attributable to devoting more time budget and effort to occupations. This could be exemplified by America because moderate working hours here are conducive to residents to enhance their well-being and have more quality time, which partially contribute to its wealth.

However, I side with those who advocate the potential social drawbacks of extended working duration, far beyond economic ramifications. Firstly, living in a dual-income family where parents channel substantially their daytime for workplaces probably give rise to the children’s estrangement from their family and the lack of interpersonal skills due to inadequate parental supervision. Resultantly, they are more prone to mental disturbances and being entangled in nefarious activities, including armed robberies or illegal trafficking. By the same token, extending the working hours among the populace can widen increasingly the social stratification on the grounds that overworked employees could form certain misconceptions towards success based on the levels of earnings, leading to not only the discrimination between the rich and the poor but also social unrest and instability.

In conclusion, despite the correlations between overworking and national economics, this tendency could take a toll on both individual well-being and community. I assume that only by work-life balance, will countries be able to elevate citizenry’s life quality and foster economic growth.