Although there are a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern society with numerous life-changing inventions that assist human life in many ways, many beneficial translation websites and applications are introduced in order to break the language barrier between countries. However, many people believe that it is also helpful to know different languages. Personally, I totally agree with this idea.

Despite the undeniable convenience, translation softwares still have some drawbacks that should be taken into account. First, the translation may not have sufficient accuracy in all situations. These websites can show us the meaning of a specific word or phrase in other languages with high accuracy, but that is not the case for long sentences, which can be translated into unnatural or wrong ones. Second, people need to afford a technological device in order to utilize these softwares, which can be incredibly hard for individuals from underpriviliged areas. That is why studying is the only way possible for those people to get to know other languages. Finally, the overuse of advanced technology in all circumstances can lead to the lack of adequate linguistical knowledge and skills for some people, creating hurdles for those ones in the current global world.

More importantly, I support the work of studying languages as I can see many clear advantages of it. First, each country’s culture is fully reflected in its language, which is packed with incredible values that can not be found elsewhere. Bacause of that, languages is the key to open a new horizon to our knowledge. Second, languages is extremely beneficial when it comes to employment, especially when you are working in an international company, which is increasingly common nowadays. A deep understanding of language can secure you a high status with better salary, something individuals with poorer basis can not get their hand on. Finally, when you are fluent in a certain language, you can confidently and effortlessly voice your opinions without being scare of making mistakes. You can clearly see that diplomats usually have to know multiples languages, because their ideas may not be converted thoroughly and correctly by an interpreter.

In conclusion, although translation can be implemented thanks to technology, we can not underlook the importance of learning languages. Every individuals should try to study at least one foreign language as it can be incredibly helpful in their lives, and take advantage of advanced technology to assist the studying process.