Although there are a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite the invention and advancement of translation software, such as Google Translate, the necessity of learning foreign languages remains undeniable. From my perspective, this statement holds great validity. In this essay, I will elucidate my viewpoint.

A primary reason to agree with this argument is the complexity of human interaction. Moods and emotions are embedded into words with other measures, such as body language, tones of voice, and facial expressions. Additionally, cultural and regional backgrounds often affect the meanings of expressions. Therefore, listeners should pay attention to such crucial elements and comprehend speakers’ backgrounds, leading to seamless conversation. When I, to illustrate, made a mistake at the workplace, my French manager told me, “Good job!” with a big smile. Instantaneously, I noticed that he was joking because I knew jokes are significant in French culture. Even so, some proponents argue that generative AI could be featured in the programme to appreciate different cultures and traditions within the next few decades. However, I believe that it would not happen in the short term and would not be perfect. For these reasons, becoming multilingual is excessively important.

Another key factor is cognitive development. By learning languages other than the first language, brain cells relating to cognition are developed further than those who speak only their mother tongue. This phenomenon will prevent memory issues that stem from ageing. Research conducted by the Department of Health indicates that the emergence rate of memory loss in senior life for bilingual individuals is 40% less than for monolingual people. Despite this study, it is also true that various factors other than linguistic abilities contribute to predicaments that the older generation experiences. Although I agree with this critique, I still firmly assert that mastering different languages rather than relying heavily on translating applications benefits people’s physical well-being.

In conclusion, technological development has facilitated conversation between individuals who speak distinct languages. In the meantime, additional language learning can carry several favourable results, such as intercultural communication skills and the prevention of senior illness. With the combination of AI use and language study, more sustainable and sophisticated perks will be attained.