An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialize. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an escalation of internet users for the purpose of socialization. Therefore, there is a vigorous discourse regarding whether this trend has fostered people’s relationships or made them fade. This essay will elucidate both perspectives on this issue, ultimately concluding with my support for the latter.

Advocates for bringing people closer through the internet argue that if people utilize the internet effectively, this can enable them to connect with others regardless of geographic barriers. This, in turn, facilitates each individual to make friends and socialize, leading to the formation of wide relationship networks on an international scale. Moreover, thanks to the significant growth of the internet, it contributes to the advent of social media platforms which create spaces for groups and communities. In this way, each individual can share their own interests on social forums to seek like-minded counterparts. In theory, these factors have collectively bolstered a strong connection in society.

However, I firmly believe that the internet leads to a sense of isolation. Specifically, given the use of the internet to make friends, this potentially causes the risk of addiction to the virtual world, translating to being glued to the screen. Such excessive screen time may stifle addicts’ expansion of social relationships, thereby resulting in a dwindling sense of community. Furthermore, despite the advancement of the internet in connecting people, such as long-distance connection and video call, expressing emotions and feelings is still limited through the screen, which contributes to boredom in online relationships. Consequently, while such relationships seem to be short-lived, they also make real-life relationship networks gradually ruined. The confluence of these elements has, thus, caused isolation in society.

In conclusion, although the merits of fostering people’s relationships through the internet lie in removing geographic barriers and sharing passions, I maintain that it leans clearly towards making humans more isolated, which can be seen through excessive screen time and limited emotional expression.