An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialize. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The internet has become a milestone of almost every technology in our world. It is argued that some people believe that the internet can bring people together, while others think it is encouraging them to be more isolated. In this essay, I will discuss both views and present my opinion in the end.

To begin with, the fact that there is an increasing number of internet users cannot be denied. That is because people tend to use the internet in various entertainment and educational aspects, such as online tutoring, social media, online streaming platforms, and much more. Therefore, it is considered a convenient tool that connects people in every corner of the globe. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, there were restrictions on traveling and going out in public, and it was very difficult to keep up with friends and family and to maintain our social lives. However, being online allowed us to communicate using text and video chat applications.

On the contrary, excessive internet use can cause people to become more isolated because they will unconsciously stay at home, engaging in virtual interactions on social media. Furthermore, individuals with introverted personalities will be most affected by the negative sides of the internet because they do not have the energy or skills to handle regular face-to-face communication and interactions. Thus, it becomes an excuse to escape from real society. As a result, this can lead to depression, loneliness, mental illness, and even social anxiety.

In conclusion, both views have valid reasoning. However, from my own perspective, I support the former opinion rather than the latter.