An increasing population is using computers and electronic devices to do screen reading instead of reading books, magazines and newspapers, so there is no need for printed publications to exist. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that modern technologies have already revolutionized people’s lifestyles. In recent years, a multitud of people have been utilizing electronic gadgets like computers to be aware of the latest news, meaning that different, journals and other sources are not as necessary as before. Personally, I flatly contradict this opinion because they have an adverse impact on their health and stopping the work of publishing houses might cause many to be unemployed.

The first reason why I disagree with this point of view is that if people consistently read news on websites on computers and other means like this, it is highly probable that they will encounter several health issues as a lot of rays which are detrimental to the eyesight emit from the screens of electronic devices. This means that they will not be capable of seeing everything adequately well provided that they do not refuse screen reading as soon as possible. My neighbor who lives adjacent to my home, for instance, is habituated to reading news on his computer instead of newspapers, although they are always are distributed free of charge every Friday in my hometown, and he often asked me for help to pass the road since his ability to see deteriorated.

Despite these disadvantageous aspects of utilization of computers for being conscious of news, more serious problems may arise, unemployment among most individuals to be exact. Should publishing houses be closed and stop publishing journal that include daily news and magazines, undoubtedly numerous members of staff will lose their job at the end. For example, recent reports have shown that there are not special institutions for editing newspapers in a number of countries in Europe owing to the fact that social media enables us to read news, and therefore the rate of employment has diminished within a few weeks.

To conclude, it appears to me that screen reading is fundamentally incorrect as people may face some problems with their health and employees at publishing establishments might be redundant.