Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that older citizens cause issues for the governments. However, others argue that it is beneficial if there are more elderly people in society. Personally, I believe that the benefits of having more elderly people outweigh the disadvantages because their presence can assist the younger generations by passing down long life lessons and they can also aid adults to watch over the grandkids.

The presence of having elderly people in society is that they can provide the younger generations with life advice. Since they have lived longer, the elderly have more experience that can be passed down. For example, those who had lived during the world war can provide education for children about the event. Furthermore they can also provide advice on how to survive if there is any war outbreak in the future. Even more, nowadays when most adults in society are occupied with their work, older people can assist them by looking after their grandchildren. This way parents do not have to worry about the safety of their offspring.

Despite the benefit, ageing populations can trouble the governments since their age is not suitable for productivity. This can lead to unemployment and a decrease in work effectiveness since people their age experience a decrease in cognitive functions as well as physical health. As a result, they can hinder the country’s development.

In conclusion, even if there are some disadvantages in a country’s productivity, the benefits still outweigh the disadvantages because elderly can assist in giving life lessons to younger generations and can aid adults looking after their offspring.